Rolex 24 at Daytona: Alonso & WTR Victorious

Fernando Alonso, Rolex 24 at Daytona 2019, Wayne Taylor Racing, Race Victory
Photo: © IMSA

Fernando Alonso, Kamui Kobayashi, Jordan Taylor, Renger van der Zande and Wayne Taylor Racing victorious in the 2019 Rolex 24 at Daytona.


The #10 DPi Cadillac of Wayne Taylor Racing qualified in 6th place, courtesy of Jordan Taylor, who drove the car in qualifying on Thursday.

Jordan Taylor would also start the race, before being substituted by Fernando Alonso.


Taylor kept his 6th place on the start, but slipped down to 7th place at the first hour mark – incredibly, the whole top 7 was following each other in a gap of only 2.6s, at this point of the race.

The American driver moved back up into 6th place, before the end of his very consistent first stint. Fernando Alonso took over just before the second hour mark, he rejoined the race in 6th, 7s behind the leader.

Alonso moved up into 5th place, just before the three hour mark, but he moved up very quickly, as he claimed the race lead in less than one hour into his stint, he also built up a gap of 15s.

Although the impressive gap would be reset – by the Safety Car, around the four hour mark. Kamui Kobayashi took over the #10 car at the five hour mark, he also was able to pull off a major gap, over 15s.

Once Kobayashi finished his stint, Renger van der Zande resumed the 24 hour race in the #10 car, before handing the car back over to Jordan Taylor for his 2nd stint.

Jordan Taylor was, again, very consistent in his second stint between the 11th and 13th hour mark, although he exchanged the lead with Felipe Nasr, returning the car to Fernando Alonso with a 19s gap to first place.

The first rain showers emerged around the 14 hour mark.

But heavy rain hit the track quickly, all of the DPi’s reacted and made a switch to wet tyres, though the #31 car of Whelen Engineering Racing made a brilliant strategic call, putting the wets early – essentially serving one less stop.

Car #31 nearly lapped the entire field, but crucially for the #10 car, they didn’t. A full course yellow deleted all of their advantage, not too long after.

Fernando Alonso showed his brilliant pace, after taking the lead of the race once more (through the pits), he pulled off a 50s lead over the #7 Acurda DPi.

The leading gap would be reset once again on the 16 hour mark, as another full course yellow emerged.

Unfortunately, the race was red flagged after more than an hour behind the Safety Car, due to the heavy rain, with 7h and 14 minutes to go.

Incredibly, the race was resumed behind the Safety Car, after a 90 minute stand-still, with 5h and 35 minutes to go. Fernando Alonso still led the field, when the Safety Car came in, with 5h and 28 minutes to the flag.

The racing lasted less than a minute, as some of the GT cars caused another full course yellow, after colliding on the start-finish straight.

Jordan Taylor replaced Fernando Alonso, for his 3rd and final stint of the 2019 Rolex 24 at Daytona, at the 19 hour mark.

After another 100 minutes of driving behind the Safety Car, racing resumed with 4 hours and 48 minutes to go.

Between hour 20 and 21, Jordan Taylor exchanged the lead with car #31 numerous times, even leading by 20s at some point, but ultimately the gap was nonexistent at the 21 hour mark, after racing resumed, after yet another full course yellow.

Fernando Alonso entered the #10 car with 2h and 50 minutes left for his final stint, he rejoined the race in 2nd place, where he stayed until the 22 hour mark.

The Spaniard took the lead with 2 hours to go, after the leading #31 car driven by Felipe Nasr, ran wide into turn one. Alonso extended his lead on Nasr to 15s, before the race was, yet again, red flagged.

This time the race would not be resumed, which meant that the results from lap 593 were final, crowning the Wayne Taylor Racing #10 car the winner of the 2019 Rolex at Daytona.

Unconfirmed 2019 Rolex 24 at Daytona – DPi Class Race Results
spain Fernando Alonso
Japan Kamui Kobayashi
United States Jordan Taylor
Netherlands R. van der Zande
Cadillac DPi593 
Brazil Pipo Derani
United States Eric Curran
Brazil Felipe Nasr
Cadillac DPi593+13.458s
United States Alexander Rossi
Brazil Helio Castroneves
United States Ricky Taylor
Acura DPi593+13.964s
France Loic Duval
France Romain Dumas
United States Jon Bennett
United StatesColin Braun
Nissan DPi589+4 laps
Brazil Rubens Barrichello
Canada Mikhail Goikhberg
France Tristan Vautier
Canada Devlin DeFrancesco
Cadillac DPi586+7 laps
Colombia J. P. Montoya
France Simon Pagenaud
United States Dane Cameron
Acura DPi576+17 laps
Brazil Christian Fittipaldi United Kingdom Mike Conway
Portugal Filipe Albuquerque
Portugal Joao Barbosa
Cadillac DPi573+20 laps
United States Kyle Kaiser
Austria Rene Binder
United States Will Canapino
Cadillac DPi555+38 laps
united_kingdom Harry Ticknell
France Olivier Pla
United States
Jonathan Bomarito
Mazda DPi440+153 laps
84Switzerland Simon Trummer
Colombia Juan Piedrahita
United States Chris Miller
South Africa Stephen Simpson
Cadillac DPi225+368 laps
1177united_kingdom Oliver Jarvis
germany Timo Bernhard
germany René Rast
United States Tristan Nunez
Mazda DPi220+373 laps