Rolex 24 at Daytona – Qualifying: Alonso’s WTR to Start from 6th

Wayne Taylor Racing, Rolex 24 at Daytona 2019, Qualifying
Photo: © Wayne Taylor Racing

The #10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi has qualified in 6th place on the grid, for the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Qualifying for the DPi class consists out of 15 minutes, with one selected driver in the session for each car. Jordan Taylor was picked, to drive the #10 WTR Cadillac in the qualifying session for the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Taylor completed 5 laps in the session, his fastest lap time, which was a 1:34.479s, was good enough for the 6th fastest time overall, being the 2nd fastest Cadillac.

Fernando Alonso Post-Qualifying, via NBCSN:

“I think it was good, Jordan put in a super lap, I think starting from the third row is the maximum, I think we’re four or five milliseconds from the other Cadillac that was faster than us.

“So, I think the top four positions were blocked by the Mazda and Acura before today, because we knew their potential from the ROAR. It’s a long 24 hours, but I think the starting position is good.

“Last year we were not very competitive, so everyone told me that to win Daytona you need to be in an American team, because the ballance of performance will never be the same for European teams, so this year I’m in an American team and we still don’t have the ballance of performance as the others.

“But, as I said, I think we have a good reliability and good experience here with Wayne Taylor Racing, so we’re in a good position and need to execute the race to perfection.”

The Rolex 24 at Daytona will start this Saturday, free to watch on IMSA.TV from 20:25 CET.

2019 Rolex 24 at Daytona – Qualifying, DPi Class Results
united_kingdom Oliver Jarvis
germany Timo Bernhard
germany René Rast
United States Tristan Nunez
Mazda DPi51:33.685s 
United States Alexander Rossi
Brazil Helio Castroneves
United States Ricky Taylor
Acura DPi41:33.873s+0.188s
Colombia J. P. Montoya
France Simon Pagenaud
United States Dane Cameron
Acura DPi61:34.095s+0.410s
united_kingdom Harry Ticknell
France Olivier Pla

United States
Jonathan Bomarito
Mazda DPi41:34.212+0.527s
Brazil Pipo Derani
United States Eric Curran
Brazil Felipe Nasr
Cadillac DPi51:34.433s+0.748s
spain Fernando Alonso
Japan Kamui Kobayashi
United States Jordan Taylor
Netherlands R. van der Zande
Cadillac DPi51:34.479s+0.794s
United States Kyle Kaiser
Austria Rene Binder
United States Will Canapino
Cadillac DPi81:34.679s+0.994s
Brazil Rubens Barrichello
Canada Mikhail Goikhberg
France Tristan Vautier
Canada Devlin DeFrancesco
Cadillac DPi81:35.369s+1.684s
Switzerland Simon Trummer
Colombia Juan Piedrahita
United States Chris Miller
South Africa Stephen Simpson
Cadillac DPi81:35.442s+1.757s
54France Loic Duval
France Romain Dumas
United States Jon Bennett
United StatesColin Braun
Nissan DPi81:36.686s+3.001s
 5Brazil Christian Fittipaldi United Kingdom Mike Conway
Portugal Filipe Albuquerque
Portugal Joao Barbosa
Cadillac DPi1No Time Set